Update on Masterton courthouse arrangements

The Ministry of Justice has issued an update on the arrangements for Masterton after the closure of the courthouse to allow earthquake strengthening work.

Criminal cases to be allocated a new date in January 2012

Date originally scheduled
Rescheduled date
Thursday, 8 December 2011
Friday, 20 January 2012
Friday, 9 December 2011 (fixtures)
Friday, 20 January 2012 (for a new fixture date to be set)
Wednesday, 13 December 2011 (JPs)
Tuesday, 24 January 2012 (JPs)
Monday, 19 December 2011
Monday, 30 January 2012
Tuesday, 20 December 2011 (fixtures)
Monday, 30 January 2012 (for a new fixture date to be set)
Tuesday, 4 January 2012
Monday, 30 January 2012
Monday, 9 January 2012
Thursday, 2 February 2012
 

The venue for these hearings is "yet to be determined", the ministry says. "Please ring 06 370 0230 after 12 January 2012 to confirm place, date and time of hearing. Letters will also be sent to all parties."

There will be Court presence at the Masterton Police Station each day to attend to any defendant who appears.

Any person in custody will be dealt with in the Wellington District Court on the date currently scheduled, unless earlier remanded by consent.

Any person who wants their case dealt with before Christmas must advise the Court through their counsel and the case will be heard in Wellington by arrangement.

New arrests will be dealt with at the Masterton Police Station either by the Registrar or Justices of the Peace as required. Any matter required to be considered by Judge can be heard in Wellington by arrangement.

All Family, Family Violence and Youth Court cases set for the week of 12 December will be heard in the Youth Centre of the Carterton Events Centre. Access to the building, and car parking, is via the lane beside the Town Clock (south side) on High Street South Carterton. There is a bus stop in the immediate vicinity. While there is no waiting area or interview rooms, the hearing room will provide adequate space for people to break out for private discussions if required.

Disputes and Tenancy Tribunal hearings will proceed in Masterton on the scheduled date at venues to be advised.